Perspective…..in the eyes of the beholder

Beauty is in the eyes of the beholder.  I am finding that  how we perceive life: our journey – our paths taken –  is the same thing.

What do you see? A cloudy, rainy, dismal day? Or beauty in the altered sky, water, and wave formations?

Have you ever watched a movie that shows super fast clips of someones thoughts, or flashbacks from their life?  Fast clips.  Might show 30 things in the span of 5 seconds.  It gives you insight into the characters background, or explains their thought processes in a short amount of time, so the movie isn’t 5 hours long.

It occurred to me last night and this morning, as I was reading through some blog posts on wordpress, that this is how I THINK.  This is the way my mind processes everything, every day, all day long.  No complete thoughts.  Words, flashes, images….. faster and faster and faster.

Keeping in mind that I homeschool my 4 children, and that I am a photographer, wife, housekeeper, etc…..here is a little glimpse into what might go through my mind in the span of 1 minute.  But, remember, I am a photographer.  I see life in images.  In pictures.  Every thought, every chore, every single thing I need to do is a framed image.  Sad, I know, but thats just the way it works.  so………

Ready?  Set.  GO!

“””Laundry.  Crafts.  Edit session.  Check math.  Ugh, look at those all those dirty dishes.  Dog hair all over kitchen floor.  Vacuum. Change fish tank water.  Check email.  Saturate that picture! Yard needs mowed.  Buy halloween costumes.  Plan vacation.  Do spelling.  Dogs need water.  Have I fed cats?  Make lunch.  Make playdough for little ones.  Did I check that math?  I have to finish editing that session!  Computer screen filthy.  Put on tv for kids so I can calm down.  Where’s that bottle of wine??????????”””” *wink*

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Often I have compared my life (and my brain) to chucking a bouncy ball into a rubber room.  All four walls, ceiling and floor are rubber (and representative of my life).  I am the bouncy ball.  Boing….boing……boing…..  I keep bouncing from one thing to the next, accelerating as I go along. Each thing I do seems to move me faster and faster.  My friends compare me to Tigger (Woo-hoo-hoo-hoo!!! 😉

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

So,being my Tigger-y  self, I decide to read blogs.  Follow blogs.  Start a blog.  Might as well add MORE to the mix, right?  LOL

Yesterday and today, I come across these two blog posts.  Its like a little lightning bolt was sent down from the heavens to shake me up a bit.  Okay….SOMEONE is trying to tell me SOMETHING, so I better listen.  And it wasnt that these blog posts were directed at me, because while I do follow these blogs, I have never met the authors and they do not know me from Adam, other than perhaps recognizing my avatar on the comments page now and again.  Take a peek, you might get something out of them too.

Being Thankful (Rambling with a cantankerous old mule)

The Joy is in the Jouney (Pix & Kardz)

Two key points that stuck in my mind.

From “Being Thankful :  “And I was forced to repent of my attitude. We really do have so much for which to be grateful, no matter what our circumstances!”

And from The Joy is in the Journey:  “You could consider all that still needs to be taken care of as part of the adventure”.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Hmmmmm.  Wow.  Pretty poignant stuff.  Maybe the “bouncy ball” needs to enjoy bouncing around that room a bit more, instead of complaining about it.  Instead of always looking at everything I have to do and stressing about it, maybe I need to realize that IS really the FUN ADVENTURE that is my life.  It is an adventure, and it honestly is fun.  Just getting caught up in the mundane details can take away from it all.

I have ALWAYS told everyone that I lead a charmed life.  In fact, I have said it so many times, my friends are probably sick of hearing that statement from me.  But MAYBE, just maybe, I need to put my heart where my mouth is…and LIVE IT a little more. 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Life is what you make it.  Enjoy ~

Posted on October 2, 2011, in photography, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. A great post, Christine. Thanks for the pingback as well.
    I checked out the other pingback you included, and enjoyed that post as well. It reminded me of a post on thankfulness on my other blog from a few weeks ago. Do feel free to check it out if you like: http://wp.me/p1d11t-1UP
    In any event, I also believe that it is not just so much about pulling ourselves up by our boot straps and determinedly gritting our teeth and enjoying our lives whether it kills us or not – but it is also about being able to encourage one another on our respective journeys. So good that there were two people’s posts that were able to speak into your life at a timely moment. Because I do believe that Someone is trying to tell you something – Someone who cares lots about you and all of us on our daily journeys, and who readily provides the grace, wisdom and strength we need for our journey, every single day. And who sometimes does that through people that cross our paths.
    And now you have posted something which will speak into someone else’s life. The circle of adventure keeps ever growing and growing. How cool is that.
     
    Well, that’s enough from me. Almost forgot that this is only a comment, and not my blog 🙂 Have a wonderful day! Cheers,
    Chris

    Like

  2. You’re not alone 😉 In fact, I’ve been working on a blog post for over a week now that’s managed to turn into 4 different posts (no joke) but I bounce around so much not only in conversations *wink wink* but in my writing as well…. I hate leaving people confused in the end, lol! Great post, love it! Love the wine pic too!!! Did you take that???????? 😉

    Like

  3. Great advice, we do seem to get caught up and forget that each moment each day is there to enjoy. We have to stop waiting for tomorrow or for the “fun’ to start and enjoy what we have right now, where we are and who we are with. Children grow up too fast, don’t waste a minute of it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

